Recipe: General Tso’s Chicken {Eric}

I recently decided to improvise a recipe for General Tso’s Chicken. Tyler and I have tried a few recipes before and they aren’t EXACTLY how I like my General Tso’s. I like it spicy, sweet, and lots of sauce. Whether it’s pronounced general tows, or general sows, or whatever, it is one of my favorite chinese recipes. I know Tyler showed everyone a recipe for Hibachi Chicken, and in response here is my recipe for General Tso’s Chicken. Unfortunately I do not have pictures, but it is super easy and I swear I’ll upload pictures soon. Hope you enjoy!

Kung_Pao_chicken_recipe2

This picture via google. My version isn’t as pretty but is OH SO much better.

To start, you will need:

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 C Water

6 Tbls Rice Vinegar

2 Tbls Siracha

2 T Ground Ginger

2 Clove Garlic, minced

9 Tbls Soy Sauce

3-4 Chicken Breasts, cut into chunks

1 C Corn Starch

  • Marinate the chicken in 6 tablespoons soy sauce, 1 tablespoon Siracha, Garlic and a pinch of Ground Ginger. Set aside.
  • Mix together Brown Sugar, Water, 3 tablespoons Rice Vinegar, 1 tablespoon Siracha, Ground Ginger, Garlic, & 3 tablespoons Soy Sauce. Set aside.
  • Batter the chicken in 1/2 cup Corn Starch, Salt, Pepper, and a some Ground Ginger
  • Place battered chicken into skillet with hot oil and brown.
  • Once browned, pour sauce mixture over the chicken.
  • Let sauce simmer until it is at the right saucy consistency.
  • Serve over rice and enjoy!

I promise, this will be delicious, flavorful, and spicy. You can cut down on the Siracha if you want less heat. I assure you, I am no chef. I once ruined a pasta dish…and that’s not easy. So what I’m saying is that if I can do this out of pure creativity then you can definitely follow this recipe. Hey, you can even add to it if you want! Add some green and red peppers, add some onion. Make it how you like it! You better like this cause I slaved away making this for you!

Let me know what you think! I hope it works out well!

Eric

bowtie

About The 20 Somethings

A meeting place for 20 something creatives with fashion tips, recipes, DIY projects, & more. www.the20somethings.com

Comment...

Categories

Past Posts

Receive notifications of our new posts by email.

Join 1,028 other subscribers